Support My Work!

Not a Member?
Enter your email address
and be notified when
I post new artwork!

subscribe
unsubscribe


Free Downloads:

Single-Screen Downloads (Members Only)

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


Random DB

The Sleeping Forest
"The Sleeping Forest"

8.93/10 rating
(120 votes)

Print Available!
Ryan's TipJar

Sticking with the planetscape theme here. I wanted to see if I could use Oculus Medium to create icebergs here. The planets are a mix of Vue rendered "planetary landscapes" (spherical terrains) and one that I created in Lightwave.

Member Comments

Ryan
"@Becca85"
Thank you! It's actually a new planet model I designed (using Lightwave and a program called "Wilbur") but I didn't really think it detailed enough to be the main subject of a scene. It worked nicely here though and certain evokes "Crucible" for folks who remember that far back :-)



Thanks for the comment!!

Sat October 6, 2018 at 8:52 pm

Becca85
"Nostalgic"
That may seem like an interesting Review Title, but I have to say that I love when some of your former works creep into your newer works. Case in point: the Crucible planet making an appearance here. It's like a little gift from the past.

Sat October 6, 2018 at 12:10 pm

Grue
"Perspective distortion on multiscreen is a dealbreaker for me."
Unfortunately for my triple-screen use, the curve distortion in the multiscreen views is a dealbreaker for me using this as a background. I gave it a couple days but it just ruins the illusion of the setting for me.

Sun July 29, 2018 at 8:47 pm

ZUL
"Put on something warm"
I like the light source shining on the icebergs. They edges look very realistic.

Sun June 3, 2018 at 10:52 pm

Phineas
"Caerulea"
It looks all the more cold because of the partially molten moon in the sky. I could almost wish it was fully molten - extra contrast.

Fri June 1, 2018 at 4:34 pm

Rodewaryer
"Instills Various Senses"
Firstly, you can feel it, as anyone that's been somewhere cold. It sparks the awe sense at the scope of it all and yet leaves one with a bit of hopelessness at there being no where to....go. Not entirely different that finding yourself home only to find debris....

Thu May 24, 2018 at 0:33 am

Timhogs
"Lovely"
I'd say the iceberg experiment was a success. And the moons are beautiful (I noticed on the duals and triples, though, that they aren't exactly round - was that intentional?)

Wed May 23, 2018 at 4:27 am

Tyler
"Love it more and more"
Having this up on my dual work monitors and staring at it for hours now I'm realizing this is actually a masterpiece. I originally loved it at first sight now it's quickly becoming a favorite it's just so crispy man.

Tue May 22, 2018 at 5:39 pm

Ryan
"@Gibby"
Have you tried the version for the Samsung Galaxy?

Tue May 22, 2018 at 9:56 am

Gibbylinks
"Android HD"
Once again brilliant Ryan, but why no Android HD anymore?

Tue May 22, 2018 at 9:22 am

Keith-E
"Lurve the blues "
I like this one enough to use it across multiple monitors. As usual, looking forward to the tri-screen. My first thought was how real the ice looked, harking back to Circumpolar. ♥

Tue May 22, 2018 at 5:15 am

Darren
"Incredible"
Amazing image. It genuinely looks cold. The ice is superb, I think Oculus Medium worked out nicely.

Tue May 22, 2018 at 4:40 am

Jenanne
"Caerulea"
Wonderful, Ryan! I love this!

Tue May 22, 2018 at 4:32 am

ChrisW
"Rhapsody in BLUE"
Very nice. It does remind me of a couple of other images you've done, such as "Arctica" and "Boreal", with a touch of "Crucible" as well. Overall, very impressive -- and just the thing to greet summer with!

Tue May 22, 2018 at 0:47 am

Josh
"This is awesome"
This is going up there with one of my all time favorites, Niflheim.

Mon May 21, 2018 at 8:34 pm

Ozaawaagosh
"Love This"
Love This One, great colours, awesome realism and great theme, in agreement with the comment that Tyler made. Great render Ryan.

Mon May 21, 2018 at 6:51 pm

BigD
"Beautiful as always"
I too like the more minimalist look to wallpapers and think this one is spot on. The colors and layout are great!

Mon May 21, 2018 at 5:50 pm

Tyler
"Love it"
Love the satellite planets right off the bat. Brilliant integration of what looks to be Crucible (http://digitalblasphemy.com/preview.shtml?i=crucibleplanet) and Skyward (http://digitalblasphemy.com/preview.shtml?i=skyward3). Not sure if that was by design or not but it works.

Mon May 21, 2018 at 5:31 pm

vtowens
"Amazing!!"
Love this one, clean lines, great coloring, calming effect. Great work!!

Mon May 21, 2018 at 4:11 pm

Nathan Zachary
"@Ryan"
That one is lovely, too! My first thought was of Boreal:

http://digitalblasphemy.com/preview.shtml?i=boreal1



Absolutely love that one, and use it quite often. :)

Mon May 21, 2018 at 3:50 pm

Jeff Cook
"Wow!"
Those icebergs are spectacular!

Mon May 21, 2018 at 3:37 pm

num3ers
"opps"
Gave this a 1 by mistake.....9 IMO all day long.

Mon May 21, 2018 at 2:26 pm

David M
"Planetscapes are my fave"
Love, love, love your planetscapes. My only critique here is that often your icebergs seem to have very flat surfaces when they hit the waterline: the lines are so very straight where the ice meets the water, no sense of unevenness. But otherwise, the ice looks so dang real and I love how your planetscapes inspire wonder and awe and the imagination.

Mon May 21, 2018 at 11:44 am

John Moore
"Great job... "
Morning Ryan... someone else mentioned this and I have to agree. I really like to blue and white tones to this drawing. I have finally replaced the magic mushrooms on my desktop.

Mon May 21, 2018 at 10:43 am

John Kinane
"2560x1024?"
please? ;-)

Mon May 21, 2018 at 10:19 am

Littlemom
"Really Like"
This is a nice one Ryan. I love the blue and white tones to this. Great Job!!!

Mon May 21, 2018 at 10:17 am

Ryan
"@Nathan"
You might be right. I walk by an old print of "Majesty" in my house just about every day and this piece is sort of a homage to that (note the earthlike planet).

Mon May 21, 2018 at 10:16 am

Nathan Zachary
"The other planets"
I like the more minimalistic planetscapes like this one. To me, though, it would be better with just the single large planet in the background. The others seem superimposed and out-of-place.

Mon May 21, 2018 at 10:11 am

Multiple Monitors?
DB Recommends DisplayFusion

Multiscreen Downloads (Members Only)

Dualscreen:

Triple-screen:

Digital Blasphemy 2019 Wall Calendar
Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play Get it on Windows 10

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2018 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy